Announcement of Keynote Speakers – IACL-AIDC Junior Scholars Forum 2020

IACL-AIDC Junior Scholars Forum

Announcement of Keynote Speakers

National University of Singapore, Faculty of Law

2 & 3 July 2020

The International Association of Constitutional Law (IACL-AIDC) is pleased to announce the keynote speakers for its inaugural Junior Scholars Forum to be held at the National University of Singapore on 2-3 July 2020, in collaboration with the National University of Singapore Faculty of Law’s Centre for Asian Legal Studies and Melbourne Law School’s Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies. The Forum aims to provide junior constitutional law scholars with a platform (a) to develop their scholarship and interest in constitutional law, (b) to connect with other junior scholars from around the world, in particular bridging the gap between scholars located in the ‘Global North’ and ‘Global South’, and (c) to receive feedback on their research and writing from distinguished scholars in the field.

At the Forum, the keynote speakers will address some key methodological challenges and substantive trends in the field of comparative constitutional law. They will also act as commentators for some of the papers to be presented by junior scholars at the Forum.

Junior scholars interested in presenting at the Forum can find out more details about the application process in the Call for Papers. Submissions are due by 29 November 2019.

The keynote speakers are:

Professor Kim Lane Scheppele is the Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Sociology and International Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School and the University Center for Human Values at Princeton University. Her work focuses on the intersection of constitutional and international law, particularly in constitutional systems under stress.

Judge Raul Cano Pangalangan is a Judge of the International Criminal Court. He came to the Court from the University of the Philippines where he has taught constitutional law and public international law as a Professor of Law and former Law Dean.

Laureate Professor Emeritus Cheryl Saunders AO is a Professor Emeritus at Melbourne Law School, The University of Melbourne. She has specialist interests in Australian and comparative public law, including comparative constitutional law and method, intergovernmental relations and constitutional design and change.

Professor Kevin Y L Tan is an Adjunct Professor at the Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore. He specializes in Constitutional and Administrative Law, International Law and International Human Rights.

Professor Adrienne Stone is the President of the International Association of Constitutional Law. She holds a Chair at Melbourne Law School, The University of Melbourne where she is also a Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellow, a Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor and Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies.


Any inquiries related to the Forum may be directed to:

Jaclyn L. Neo (NUS Law):

Scott Stephenson (Melbourne Law School):

To access the PDF version of this announcement, please click here.